Michael Gove sacked as Tory meltdown continues

Prime Minister Boris Johnson has sacked housing secretary Michael Gove for telling the press he should resign.

A Downing Street source told the BBC: “You cannot have a snake who is not with you on any of the big arguments who then gleefully briefs the press that he has called for the leader to go. You cannot operate like that.”

Gove has been a key figure in determining Tory policy on housing since taking the role in September 2021.

He was the figurehead for the government’s ‘A fairer private rented sector’ White Paper, which committed to ending Section 21 evictions and introducing an ombudsman to resolve disputes between tenants and landlords.

Before that he scrapped the planning reforms instigated by his predecessor Robert Jenrick, which would have asked councils to divide land in England into ‘growth’ and ‘protected’ sites, as there were concerns it could disempower local communities in favour of developers and threaten the green belt.

He took a leading role in making housebuilders pay to fix cladding issues, though he angered some landlords by making them contribute to the costs.

He instigated the ‘levelling up’ policy of investing in towns outside London and the Home Counties – it remains to be seen what will happen to this plan without him.

Gove has a rivalry with Boris Johnson spanning from 2016, when the former launched his own campaign when Johnson was going for the Tory leader role.

Gove is far from the only minister to call for Johnson to resign after the latest scandal, which was sparked by deputy whip Christopher Pincher groping two junior ministers, followed by Johnson’s claim that he forgot he was briefed about Pincher’s previous sexual misconduct.

At least 41 ministers have resigned or been sacked since the Pincher scandal, including health secretary Sajid Javid and Chancellor Rishi Sunak.

Other MPs who called for Johnson to resign. According to reports his own cabinet ministers urged to resign, comprised of Priti Patel, home secretary and MP for Witham; Chris Heaton-Harris, chief whip and MP for Daventry; Grant Shapps, transport secretary and MP for Welwyn Hatfield; Simon Hart, Welsh secretary and MP for Carmarthen; Kwasi Kwarteng, business secretary and MP for Spelthorne; and Nadhim Sahawi, the newly appointed Chancellor.

Even before the 7th July the list of MPs that called for Johnson to resign was long:

  • Paul Holmes – MP for Eastleigh
  • Jo Gideon – MP for Stoke on Trent
  • Sally Ann-Hart – MP for Hastings and Rye
  • Robert Halfon – MP for Harlow
  • Chris Skidmore – MP for Kingswood
  • Lee Anderson – MP for Ashfield
  • Tom Hunt – MP for Ipswich
  • Simon Fell – MP for Barrow & Furness
  • Kate Griffiths – MP for Burton and Uttoxeter
  • Gary Sambrook – MP for Birmingham Northfield
  • Alec Shelbrooke – MP for Elmet and RothwellHuw Merriman – MP for Bexhill and Battle
  • Robert Jenrick – MP for Newark
  • Ben Spencer – MP for Runnymede and Weybridge
  • Liam Fox – MP for North Somerset
  • Anna Firth – MP for Southend West
  • Craig Tracey – MP for North Warwickshire
  • Sir Oliver Heald – MP for North East Hertfordshire
  • Sir Robert Syms – Poole in Dorset
  • Henry Smith – MP for Crawley
  • Neil Hudson – MP for Penrith and The Border
  • Nickie Aiken – MP for Cities of London and Westminster
  • Louie French – MP for Old Bexley and Sidcup
  • Shaun Bailey – MP for West Bromwich West
  • Bob Seely – MP for the Isle of Wight
  • Ben Bradley – MP for Mansfield
  • Jeremy Hunt MP for South West Surrey
  • John Penrose MP for Weston-Super-Mare
  • Angela Richardson MP for Guildford
  • Mark Pawsey MP for Rugby & Bulkington
  • Douglas Ross, Leader of the Scottish Tories
  • Sir Robert Syms – MP for Poole
  • Dehenna Davison – MP for Bishop Auckland
  • Laurence Robertson – MP for Tewkesbury
  • Andrew Bowie – MP for West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
  • John Lamont – MP for Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk
  • David Mundell – MP for Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale
  • Julian Sturdy – MP for York Outer
  • Angela Richardson – MP for Guildford
  • Steve Brine – MP for Winchester
  • David Simmonds – MP for Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner
  • John Baron – MP for Basildon and Billericay
  • Stephen Hammond – MP for Wimbledon
  • Alicia Kearns – MP for Rutland and Melton
  • Sir Bob Neill – MP for Bromley and Chislehurst
  • Anne Marie Morris – MP for Newton Abbot
  • Jeremy Wright – MP for Kenilworth and Southam#
  • Elliot Colburn – MP for Carshalton and Wallington
  • Andrew Bridgen – MP for North West Leicestershire
  • John Stevenson – MP for Carlisle
  • Jesse Norman – MP for Hereford and South Herefordshire
  • Craig Whittaker – MP for Calder Valley
  • Nigel Mills – MP for Amber Valley
  • Karen Bradley – MP for Staffordshire Moorlands
  • Mark Harper – MP for Forest of Dean
  • Steve Baker – MP for Wycombe
  • Sir Roger Gale – MP for North Thanet
  • William Wragg – MP for Hazel Grove and Vice-Chairman of the 1922 Committee
  • Caroline Nokes – MP Romsey and Southampton North
  • Tim Loughton – MP for East Worthing
  • David Davis – MP for Haltemprice and Howden
  • Andrew Mitchell – MP for Royal Sutton Coldfield
  • Peter Aldous – MP for Waveney
  • Tobias Ellwood – MP for Bournemouth East
  • Sir Gary Streeter – MP for South West Devon
  • Anthony Mangnall – MP for Totnes
  • Aaron Bell – MP for Newcastle-under-Lyme
  • Sir Nick Gibb – MP for Bognor Regis and Littlehampton

Comments 2

  1. So we have the renters reform bill, we all now know Michael Gove has gone, Housing Minister gone, all Leveling up department has gone. No stability. And they’ll get in some new Muppet’s with zero experience or qualifications to tell us how to house people. I’ve got a Master’s in housing compared to these Bafoon’s.
    I’m not allowed to leave, the same tenant of 25 years is not allowed to leve, & the same house is not allowed to leave. Yet the people who tell us how to rent houses out come & go.

  2. So, Boris has decided the time has come for change. I’ve been saying for weeks that change is required and hundreds of people have agreed with me, by signing this petition. Regulation of Property Agents needs to be top of the list for whoever turns out to be the new prime minister and housing secretary.

    Whilst the government reshuffles and reorganises, please sign and share > https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/617995

Leave a Reply